The 39: Who’s choosing the chancellor

Posted on Jun 13 2019 - 3:25pm by Eliza Noe

In the newest development in the search for Ole Miss’s 18th chancellor, the Board of Trustees of the Institutions of Higher Learning released their 39-member panel on June 7 that will make up the Campus Search Advisory Committee.

Graphic by Katherine Butler.

According to IHL bylaws, this committee will discuss all candidates that apply before a set date, and members are required to submit recommendations and votes for five candidates. This pool will be reviewed by the IHL board, and after two rounds of interviews, a preferred candidate will be chosen to visit campus to meet with various groups at the university.

Graphic by Katherine Butler.

Co-chaired by Dr. Charles Hussey and Mayor Robyn Tannehill, the 39 members will have its first meeting on Friday at 11:30 a.m. at the Inn at Ole Miss.